The Royals.

The Royal Wedding has been on the media radar for months now. I admit that I have been dodging every ounce of media coverage leading up to the Royal Wedding. It was ruining my perception of the traditional monarchy and making somewhat of a circus out of an event meant to be regal and joyful. With that being said, I was not about to miss the live broadcast of the Royal Wedding this morning. I have been obsessed with the histories of royalty for as long as I can remember, especially the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries in Europe. I was born a few years too late to partake in the witness of Prince Charles and Princess Diana’s wedding so this was my first Royal Wedding in my lifetime. I was delighted to see a lot of the traditional details mixed with some modern touches. The British still know how to do pomp + pageantry right.

I adored Kate’s, or should I say Her Royal Highness Princess William Arthur Philip Louis, Duchess of Cambridge, Countess of Strathearn, Baroness Carrickfergus’ wedding dress. There is no denying the similarities between her dress and the dress Grace Kelly wore when she wed the Prince of Monaco in 1956. I think it was a beautiful choice and fit the occasion brilliantly. His Royal Highness Prince William Arthur Philip Louis, Duke of Cambridge, Earl of Strathearn, Baron Carrickfergus, Royal Knight Companion of the Most Noble Order of the Garter, Master of Arts (HA!) looked very dashing while donning the uniform of Colonel of the Irish Guards. I just can’t get enough of a man in dress uniform. It was just a lovely ceremony and I enjoyed The Bishop of London’s sermon.

The news has been full of devastation recently and it was refreshing to witness this moment of hope. It reminds us of the good and love that still exists in this world and we must live in the moment while having hope for the future.

Since I was unable to attend this monumental event, I decided to take photos of my TV during my favorite moments. Lame, I know, but I did not want to use the media photos. It really was a breathtaking event and I thought it too lovely not to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

